Generally, it’s not illegal to carry or possess knives in the State of Vermont. However, there is a statute in the state that specifies that carrying dangerous weapons, whether openly or concealed with criminal intent is prohibited. 13 V.S.A. § 4003 Vermont law prohibits the possession or sale of a “switchblade knife” with a blade of three inches or more in length. 13 V.S.A. § 4013
§ 4013. Zip guns; switchblades A person who possesses, sells or offers for sale a weapon commonly known as a zip gun, or a weapon commonly known as a switchblade knife, the blade of which is three inches or more in length, shall be imprisoned not more than 90 days or fined not more than $100.00 or both.
It is prohibited to furnish or sell firearms and other dangerous weapons to minors under 16 years of age. 13 V.S.A. § 4007.
On school property, buses and school buildings it is prohibited to possess dangerous weapons. 13 V.S.A. § 4004.
3 ” is the length of a blade which is prohibited for switchblade knives.
This information that is presented as a brief description of the laws and not as any kind of legal advice. aStraightArrow will not and cannot be a legal service provider. The use of the site does not create any sort of client/lawyer relationship. The knife laws are interpreted differently by prosecuting attorneys, enforcement officers, and judges. aStraightArrow suggests you consult legal counsel for further guidance.